Bill Cosby is Wrong

Bill Cosby [1] offered his opinion on the Martin / Zimmerman case here, and among other things he said this:

“When you carry a gun, you mean to harm somebody, kill somebody”

Respectfully, Mr. Cosby, you are dead wrong. Not that I merely disagree with you. You are absolutely dead wrong, by my empirical observation.

You see, I carry a gun, daily and everywhere it is legal for me to do so, and have for years. Yet, I have never had even the faintest desire to hurt anybody or kill anybody. I don’t “mean to harm somebody, kill somebody”. I have never been tempted to draw my gun. And I hope and pray that I never find myself in a situation where I have to use my gun. If I do, it will be in self defense or defense of my family.

There are many moral uses for owning and carrying a gun; hunting, or sports shooting, for a few. Personally, I carry for self defense, and as a deterrent if necessary.

Mr. Cosby believes that because Zimmerman had a gun, he felt empowered to confront Trayvon Martin. He believes the confrontation would not have taken place if Zimmerman was unarmed. All this is pure speculation. As to what Zimmerman was thinking; sorry, I’m not psychic. I don’t know what he was thinking, and what’s more, Bill Cosby doesn’t know, either. Nor do you.

-Popgun

[1] I like and respect Bill Cosby. I have enjoyed his humor ever since the TV series “I Spy” back when I was a kid. I used to listen to his monologues on tape – “Noah” is still a hoot. Bill Cosby has done more for promoting racial unity than, probably, anyone else, through his several TV series. Furthermore, he did it without stirring up any protests, or marches, or riots. Cosby is almost unique in that he promotes racial unity without stirring up hatred. He has been a very positive role model for pretty much anybody. He has promoted raising kids right, and has been very open about the problems in the black community which need addressing.

Jesse Jackson, Al Sharpton, and others of their ilk stir up race hatred; Bill Cosby promotes peace and responsible citizenship. Quite a difference in approach. Which do you prefer?

This entry was posted in Fuzzy Thinking, Guns, Law. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bill Cosby is Wrong

  1. Crotalus says:

    Apparently, he has a concealed carry permit. Either HE’S out looking to kill, or he’s a hypocrite.

    • popgun says:

      Hi, Crotalus;
      Interesting, I didn’t know that.

      There is a slight possibility that, like my employer, he has a CHL to make it easier to buy guns. My boss doesn’t carry, but he has a CHL for that purpose.

      I’m not saying you aren’t right, mind you.

      – Popgun

Comments are closed.