Racism in Politics – Again

I’m not telling you anything you don’t know, but a lot of what’s going on is pure demonization of those who disagree with you, along with willful ignorance.

For instance, Morgan Freeman has decided that the Tea Party is a bunch of ignorant racists; but he’s just plain wrong. Yet, he seems sincere. Now, I’ve been to a tea party meeting, and I know some people who are members, and I’m here to tell you that as far as I can tell, they ain’t racist. So he’s wrong.

Now, I like Morgan Freeman as an actor – he seems like a nice guy. I didn’t think we lined up politically, but that’s OK. But now, he’s calling people racist that I know are not. Mr. Freeman has brought himself down a few notches, in my regard. And after watching those science shows narrated by Mr. Freeman, I would have thought he would be one to check his facts before speaking. What a disappointment!

What is really going on here is demonization of the political enemy. The practice these days is to say the most outrageous things about those who disagree with you, and hope it sticks.

Take Rick Perry, for instance. Simply because someplace he used to go to many years ago was named (by somebody else, I might add), Nigger [1] something or other, he is branded as a racist by a news organization which wrote a story heavily biased a certain way, and with anonymous sources; and lots of people believe this slander, without doing any research at all to see if it is true. Possibly changing history in the process.

Here’s an interesting article about Perry that should have gotten more press – people who actually know him, many of them Democrats, are defending him against this racism charge.

Actually, I kind of liked Herman Cain, right up until he decided to play the race card on Rick Perry. Now, I’m not so sure I want somebody who is that quick-on-the-trigger to be President of the United States. Either he is playing this for political gain, or he is gullible. I don’t find either possibility attractive in a candidate for the presidency.

I live in East Texas. I happen to know that there is a place a few miles up the road which was once known as Nigger Ridge. I believe it was established in the 1800’s, and it was a community of black folks. Both whites and blacks called it that, and nobody thought twice about it, at that time and place. [3] So, as it happens, I drive through there every once in a while. That doesn’t make me a racist. Except possibly to Herman Cain.

Here’s the real truth: There will always be racism, as long as there are those who are eagerly looking for it.

I don’t believe you can play the race card politically without, to some extent, being of low morality. A person who respects all other persons equally will not accuse another of being a racist without real evidence of race-hatred. Playing the race card without such evidence is demonstrating a cynical attempt to manipulate the public’s emotions.

So my policy going forward is this: any politician that plays the race card, without true and substantive evidence of real race-hatred, loses my vote.

If racism is real, it deserves extreme condemnation; if it is not, they are just playing politics, and are, in effect, lying and slandering somebody else.

-Popgun

[1] Yes, I actually used the word “nigger” in a sentence. Adult people going around saying “the N-word” strikes me as stupid and childish. I did not and will not call anybody a nigger; it was used in many place-names; it is a part of our history. Get over it. [2]

[2] And I also think it’s stupid to publish a version of Mark Twain’s “The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn” which has been modified to remove the word. The audience should be able to read the book, and understand the historical context of the word. “Nigger” is what black folks were often called back then, and the word at that time did not carry quite the same freight it carries today; and history should not be rewritten, for any reason.

[3] Historical information was described to me by my elderly uncle who relayed to me some of how things were, back then when he was a child. This is a live witness of conditions 75 to 80 years ago, a valid and true testimony.

This entry was posted in Fuzzy Thinking, Memories, Philosophy, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Racism in Politics – Again

  1. Crotalus says:

    I agree with your number one point, Popgun. I wouldn’t call anyone that word, but out here in the Volksrepublik of Kollyvornia we have a cactus (Echinocactus polycephalus) that has “niggerhead” as one of its common names, probably because of the white wool that covers the growing points resembling an old black person’s hair. Few, if any, use that name anymore, but historically, it’s there.

Comments are closed.