Concealed Handgun License Renewal

Well, it finally came today. I mailed my completed concealed handgun license renewal packet to Austin back on September 14, 2010, and I thought I had allowed plenty of time before my birthday. Finally, today, I got my renewal. It took 115 days after I sent it off, for the government to process it and send it back. My original license expired on my birthday about six weeks ago, and I’ve been going around feeling naked (i.e. unarmed) all this time. Once you get used to carrying, it’s a weird feeling to go unarmed.

In the meanwhile, two that took the same class I did received their renewals a couple of months ago. And a few months before that, Texas Grandma renewed hers and it only took about a month. Go figure.

So, the moral of the story is this: don’t put off applying for your renewal. Austin mails the renewal notice six months before your license expires. I recommend you take the first available class after that and get the thing to Austin, to avoid lapses like mine.

-Popgun

This entry was posted in Guns. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Concealed Handgun License Renewal

  1. Bill Holda says:

    Were the State of Texas a business, it would be out of business by now!

  2. AntiCitizenOne says:

    what do you think of legislation that allows you to extend your license for a period of time (aribtrary: 1 year extension) every time you take a recognized training class? The expiration date is not shown on the physical license but the license does have an access code printed on it that can you can use to access an online database to see when you permit would expire. This same code can be used by LEO when they are verifying your permit.

    • popgun says:

      Sounds good to me! That would also encourage people to take more training, and that would be a good thing.

      Another thing they could do is send you a temporary slip to put with your license, showing that you have applied for renewal, and allow you to keep carrying unless your license is actually revoked. Same as they do for drivers licenses.

      -Popgun

      • AntiCitizenOne says:

        Cool – this is a question that’s been bugging me for some time now – there are a whole lot of fence-sitters in my medical school class who are concerned about training, especially with the campus carry issue. There are great classes out there from Front Sight, PFT, Magpul (which has their own active shooter response class), and Suarez International – a higher number of students applying for permits in confidence would probably drive down prices for these schools.

        Training would allow everyone to keep each other up to date on skills, form an overall basic defense mindset, and look out for each other – much like a well-regulated militia would (the military does the exact same thing) – the hoplophobes have just walked into their own trap.

      • AntiCitizenOne says:

        And attendance at classes should be made tax deductible as well.

  3. Crotalus says:

    Big disparities in timelength for getting your permits. Makes me wonder if someone’s singling out the gun bloggers and activists for *ahem* “special treatment”.

Comments are closed.