The Satori

According to my Mac’s dictionary, “satori” means, in one definition, “a flash of sudden awareness, or individual enlightenment”.

I was reading an anti-gun blog a few minutes ago, and it is abundantly clear that this person, one Joan Petersen of the Brady Campaign, is completely unwilling to consider any person’s viewpoint on this subject but her own.

Fair enough, I feel the same way about my views on guns. Guns are the most efficient form of self defense available to the average citizen, bar none.

ADDENDUM: Go read LawDog’s response to this lady’s 20 questions. I concur with everything he said. Bayou Renaissance Man also has a good article on this. Both of these guys are better writers than I am.

I visualize the moment when satori might come to some of those who don’t believe in guns:

Perhaps it is late at night, leaving work, walking to her car in the dim streetlight, when she is confronted by thugs who want her money – and her body. And she realizes that because she doesn’t “believe in guns”, she has no way to effectively defend herself; and as the blows begin to fall, for the first time in her life, she wishes she had a gun.

Perhaps her car has broken down along the highway, in an unsafe part of town, and three seedy-looking illegal immigrants stop to offer “help”; she’s called for help on her cell phone, but the cops will take twelve minutes to reach her location… and she wishes she had a gun.

Maybe she is out jogging on public trails, right there in suburbia in broad daylight, and a mugger beats her with brass knuckles and steals her purse. She wishes she had been more alert – and she wishes she had a gun.

Maybe she is sitting in her bed room watching TV one night, when she hears her front door being kicked in. She immediately calls 911, and help is dispatched, but – the rapist knows he has at least half an hour before the police will be there, and he can be done in 15 minutes… and she wishes she had a gun.

Suzanna Hupp had such a satori at the Luby’s Cafeteria Massacre in Killeen, Texas in 1991. She had a gun, but had left it in her car, according to the requirements of the law at that time. George Jo Hennard drove his truck into the dining room and started shooting; 23 people were shot to death while another 20 were wounded. Among the dead were Suzanna Hupp’s parents. She could have saved many lives, possibly including her parents, if she had had her gun. She was later instrumental in implementing a concealed carry law in Texas. Thank you, Suzanna Hupp!

That’s a satori.

Hundreds, perhaps thousands of incidents like these happen every day in the United States. (Granted, massacres are rare, thank God). You read about them in the news or see them on TV. We’ve had an increase in home invasions in our area, the last few years, possibly a side-effect of Katrina refugees, or illegal immigrants – who knows?

It is foolish to think it cannot happen to you. In fact, it’s the height of stupidity.

To Joan Petersen the blogger, I offer a few questions: 1) What moral right do you have to deny protection to those that desire it? 2) Why are you so unwilling to even consider that guns actually do more good than bad? 3) If you take away my legal guns, how do you plan to protect me from thugs with baseball bats and knives? You would have a moral obligation to provide me with at least as much protection as you take away. But I doubt you will think of that – or care.

She apparently thinks all guns are evil. To my way of thinking, if the evil person that is trying to hurt my family has a gun, that’s bad; but if I’ve got one, that’s good. The person is evil, not the gun. The gun is a paperweight if not directed by a human mind. And even if evil-guy didn’t have a gun, it would be a knife, or brass knuckles, or a bat, or … you get the idea.

As for me, I do choose to be constantly armed, even in my own home, even at Bible study, and even at work. It’s in the category of things that, when you need it, you need it right now; and the potential consequences of not having it could be extreme. As in the case of Ms. Hupp, at Luby’s, above. She was probably less than 100 feet from her gun… She could have saved more than 20 lives with one bullet. Guns are good – in the hands of good people.

I have done research that leads me to believe that the odds of any given individual being a victim of a violent crime is about even, over a span of ten years, in Texas. To me, doing what I can to protect my family and myself is only common sense. If I never need it, that’s good. If I ever do need it, I will be very glad I’ve gone to the trouble to have it on me.

Besides, guns are fun.

-Popgun

Addendum 10/23/2010 – A lady has a satori about guns.

This entry was posted in Guns. Bookmark the permalink.