The Apple iPad

I have decided that I want an Apple iPad. I want one because:

I like to read. In bed; in the bathroom; in the doctor’s waiting room; while eating; in point of fact, I am rarely without a book. With the iPad, I can have hundreds of books in my hand- at the same time. It will make an excellent book reader – and in color, too.

I like the idea of all the shelf space I’m going to save. I have thousands of books, and it’s a rare week I don’t buy another. I really, really like the idea of digital storage.

I like the iPhone functionality that is also available on the iPad; such as, Maps, Email, Web browsing, GPS, and games. Each of these, I actually use on the iPhone; a larger screen cannot help but make it better.

I like the idea of being able to do spreadsheet work and word processing without having to go to my desk; such as when helping others.

I like the idea of being able to upload to the iPad the hundreds of PDF files I use as reference materials in my job, and having them instantly available. Our company collects technical data as PDF files stored on our network. I’ll be able to put ALL of them on the iPad.

I like the way my iPhone syncs with my MacBook Pro seamlessly, so that all my contacts are always on both devices. The iPad will do the same.

The iPhone is an enabling technology – it is the first smart phone that is actually useful and practical. The iPad is going to be the first tablet device that is actually useful and practical. The iPhone makes me better at my job – I have many hundreds of contacts on it, for instance. The iPad will make me better at my job in a similar way.

It’s true, there are other devices that are competent at some of these functions, such as the Kindle. I don’t think I’ve seen any similar device that will be good at all of them – and fit that form factor, weight, and cost.

In short, I think it will be a good fit for me. Your mileage may vary.

-Popgun

This entry was posted in Books, Computers, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Apple iPad

  1. Trevor M. says:

    Great comments on how the iPad will help you in your job. I totally agree about the pdfs being easily accessed and all of the technical data. I also feel that the iPad will benefit students and teachers in schools. I have posted an article that outlines six ways the iPad will change/improve education in schools at http://www.edutechnophobia.com/2010/02/six-ways-the-ipad-will-transform-education/. Let me know what you think.

Comments are closed.