Obama’s Energy Policy

Obama’s energy policy is designed to force us to go to alternate energy sources to get off of oil and gas. He may think he’s saving the planet by doing so. However he is doomed to fail because of one glaring fact.

The technology doesn’t exist yet. At least not in a form that is economically competitive.

This one fact means that he will destroy the economy of this nation, as he very nearly already has, if he tries to force it. In order to make the transition to alternate energy, it MUST be economically competitive with what is being replaced. If not, the cost difference has to come from somewhere.

A couple of examples of this:

Example 1: I drive a Chevy pickup truck. To replace it with a hybrid (which isn’t even available, in a truck) would cost around $10,000 to $15,000 more than my truck did.

Example 2: I would love to put solar panels on the roof of my house to save on my electric bills. To do so would cost an estimated $25,000, which I don’t have. If I were forced to do this, it would have major negative impact on my financial situation for the rest of my life.

Multiply the above examples by the number of families in the U.S. The cost impact would be absolutely staggering. And this is why Obama will not succeed.

The examples above are on a personal level. For industry, the Cap and Trade bill is an attempt to force the U.S. to adopt these more expensive technologies (where they exist). Cap and Trade is a financial penalty for the people who supply your energy. Those people are in business to make money. The penalties will be passed on to the users. The money has to come from somewhere.

Beware the liberal rot-brain that wants to FORCE you to “improve” for your own good. “I’m from the government, and I’m here to help!” – what chilling words…

Drill here. Drill now. Create jobs and wealth. Don’t send them overseas. Develop alternate technologies WITHOUT destroying the economy, by doing it in fair competition with existing technologies.

-Popgun

This entry was posted in Fuzzy Thinking, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.