Freedom in the United States

Here’s a PDF file that is a really nifty analysis of the state of individual freedom in the United States. Thanks to Bayou Renaissance Man for pointing it out. It was produced by William P. Ruger and Jason Sorens of the Mercatus Center at George Mason University.

For my friends in New York City and / or New Jersey, here is a comparative ranking with Texas based on the 50 states:

Fiscal Policy : TX: 4 NY: 50 NJ: 43
Regulatory Policy : TX: 27 NY: 44 NJ: 49
Economic Freedom : TX: 7 NY: 50 NJ: 46
Personal Freedom : TX: 5 NY: 48 NJ: 45

Overall Freedom : TX: 5 NY: 50 NJ: 49

It makes interesting reading. I’m not really picking on New York or New Jersey – it’s just that I have friends there who might be interested. And, I have to admit, I can’t resist poking a little fun at them.

-Popgun

This entry was posted in Humor, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Freedom in the United States

  1. Ali says:

    Ooh, this looks like fun! Thanks for including the link–I can’t wait to read through it tonight!

  2. Davis says:

    yeah, but you’re still living in Texas

  3. TheOtherLarry says:

    One of the reasons my wife and I are preparing to move from Washington state to Tennessee !

Comments are closed.