Atlas Shrugged

I’m about half-way through Atlas Shrugged, by Ayn Rand.

I got started on this out of curiosity – I kept seeing references to John Galt, on protest signs at the Tea Parties. So I looked it up – and he’s in this book. Spooky – references to “Who is John Galt?”

It’s amazing. Published in 1957, it could have been written with the present administration and push towards liberalism and redistribution of wealth in mind. Today, the fed wants power to take over control of private companies. It’s in Atlas Shrugged. This book is almost prophetic.

It’s about a thousand pages. I can’t wait to see how it comes out. I’ll let you know what I think when I get finished.

ADDENDUM: Wesley Mouch, of the Bureau of Economic Planning and National Resources, sounds amazingly like Treasure Secretary Timothy Geithner as he seeks power to take over companies as he sees fit.

-Popgun

This entry was posted in Books, Philosophy, Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Atlas Shrugged

  1. Carteach0 says:

    It’s like reading a history of our society, past.. present.. and future, and realizing she got everything right SO FAR. Scary.

  2. Brigid says:

    I’ve probably read it 10 times over the last 25 years. It becomes more prophetic with each passing year.

Comments are closed.