Well, THAT Didn’t Take Long…

Before he was elected, Obama stated “I’m not going to take away your guns.” and “I believe in the Second Amendment. I believe in people’s lawful right to bear arms.”

I thought he was a liar, and I was right. If he had said then what he is saying now, he probably would not have been elected. I am seriously ticked about this.

Thanks to the Lady Tam, for the heads-up.

Within a few minutes of Obama’s inauguration, when the Presidential website was changed over to Obama’s, this appeared:

Address Gun Violence in Cities: Obama and Biden would repeal the Tiahrt Amendment, which restricts the ability of local law enforcement to access important gun trace information, and give police officers across the nation the tools they need to solve gun crimes and fight the illegal arms trade. Obama and Biden also favor commonsense measures that respect the Second Amendment rights of gun owners, while keeping guns away from children and from criminals. They support closing the gun show loophole and making guns in this country childproof. They also support making the expired federal Assault Weapons Ban permanent.

All these things are intended to chip away at our rights to own firearms. At the same time, they have very little effect on reducing crime. They all only affect law-abiding gun owners. Crooks won’t even notice any such laws.

The Tiahrt amendment prevents unnecessary and useless government invasion of gun-owners’ privacy.

Assault Weapons Ban – doesn’t do any good, to speak of. Banning all so-called assault weapons is pointless when they really are not a problem. From Gun Facts:

Nationally, “assault weapons” were used in 1.4% of crimes involving firearms and 0.25% of all violent crime before the enactment of any national or state “assault weapons” ban. In many major urban areas (San Antonio, Mobile, Nashville, etc.) and some entire states (Maryland, New Jersey, etc.) the rate is less than 0.1%

As far as the “gun show loophole”, what Obama has in mind would make it impossible for a law-abiding citizen to sell a firearm to another law-abiding citizen without the government’s blessing. I have owned several firearms and sold several firearms to people I knew to be reliable. I used a standard bill-of-sale form. None of these guns is outside the control of a law-abiding citizen. Why should the government get in my business?

The part about keeping guns away from children – I do that already, thank you very much. I don’t need the government mandating locks or telling me that I can’t have an assembled, ready-to-fire gun within reach at all times. All such efforts are actually designed to either render guns unusable in a reasonable amount of time for self defense, or to increase the cost of the firearm beyond reason.

In short, everything Obama says he wants to do is either unnecessary, or pointless, or designed to obstruct my freedom to own firearms of one type or another, or drive up the cost of guns so fewer people will have them.

Anybody that does these things is not my friend.

Why, exactly, do the Democrats and the liberals want us all to be unarmed?? What are they afraid of?

Time to start writing all my congress-critters to see if I can promote heading off some of this, well, wrong-headed law-making. I hope you will, too.

-Popgun

This entry was posted in Guns, Politics, Rant. Bookmark the permalink.